Broken

I have a big heart

and I wear it on my sleeve

in tune with others feelings

I’m always there to please.

But when I needed others

nowhere could they be found

so I stayed inside my sadness

so deep I almost drowned.

At times I claw my way out

put on a happy face

let people think I’m care-free

only I know I’m a fake.

This world is filled with takers

not willing to dig deep

to unleash the hidden feelings

inside this broken heap.

For if you take the time

to peal away the skin

you’ll find the truest me

that few know lies within.

2 Comments

  1. August 12, 2012 at 5:08 am

    This is beautiful and describes me to a T over the past year. I had a lot of trouble when I lost several “friends” at once, through no fault of my own. It has been difficult and lonely to say the least. God, family and friends- people who REALLY love me, have remained by my side and got me through. I have learned so much.

    • lapetinaa said,

      August 12, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      I know what you’ve gone through, Min, and I hope you consider me one of those friends. Depression really isolates you, turns you inward and sometimes you even blame yourself. I am so glad that you are doing much better. Thank you for being there for me through some of mine. xxxxxx


Leave a Reply

