THE WAY THE ROAD GOES

I’m trying to grow up
I’m trying to change
To be a better person
because of my age.

I want to seem wise
To appear to be cool
I want people to think
that I’m not just a fool.

Cuz it doesn’t matter how much living you’ve done
I profess
You don’t know how to outrun
The troubles, the stress,
Just how to finesse
a perfect life; a home run.

I’ve got to fake strength
So people won’t see
What’s truly inside
this vulnerability

When life strikes you down
You’ve got to move on
Feel the hope, see the light
even when it seems gone.

Cuz it doesn’t matter how much living you’ve done
I profess
You don’t know how to outrun
The troubles, the stress,
Just how to finesse
a perfect life; a home run.

Leave a Reply

